The centre of expertise

When a person is the victim of major burns in Quebec, they are directed to one of two centres of expertise, one in Eastern Quebec and one in Western Quebec.  Therefore, all victims located west of Trois-Rivières are directed to the centre of expertise in the west, located in Montreal.


The centre of expertise for people who are major burn victims in Western Quebec was established in 2005. This consortium is made up of the Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal (CHUM), the Hôpital de réadaptation Villa Medica and the Entraide Grands Brûlés association.


Following the incident, the major burn victim is first transported to the Hôtel-Dieu where they are treated with acute care. If the victim is a child, they are generally directed to the CHU – Sainte-Justine or the Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants. Afterwards, the adults are sent to Villa Medica. Children’s hospitals ensure their rehabilitation in their respective establishments or at the Rehabilitation Centre Marie Enfant for certain cases.


It’s important to mention that Entraide Grands Brûlés works in concert with hospitals, rehabilitation centres and CLSCs to offer continuous support to major burn victims and their loved ones, allowing them to accompany the patient and their family throughout the course of their rehabilitation.

.

Le Centre d'expertise

Lorsqu’une personne est victime de brûlures graves au Québec, elle est dirigée vers l’un des deux Centres d’expertise, celui de l’Est du Québec ou celui de l’Ouest du Québec. Ainsi, toute victime se trouvant à l’ouest de Trois-Rivières sera dirigée vers le Centre d’expertise de l’Ouest, situé à Montréal.

Le Centre d’expertise pour les personnes victimes de brûlures graves de l’Ouest du Québec a été mis en  place en 2005. Ce consortium est formé de l’Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal (CHUM), de l’Hôpital de réadaptation Villa Medica ainsi que de l’association Entraide Grands Brûlés.

Lors de l’incident, la victime de brûlures graves sera d’abord  transportée à l’Hôtel-Dieu où elle sera traitée en soins aigus. S’il s’agit d’un enfant, il sera plutôt dirigé vers le CHU – Sainte-Justine ou l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants. Par la suite, les adultes seront orientés vers Villa Medica.  Tandis que les hôpitaux pour enfants assureront la réadaptation soit à leur établissement respectif ou bien au Centre de réadaptation Marie-Enfant pour des cas particuliers.

Il est bien de mentionner qu’Entraide Grands Brûlés travaille de concert avec les hôpitaux, les centres de réadaptation et les CLSC offrant un soutien continu aux victimes de brûlures graves et leurs proches lui permettant du même coup d’accompagner le patient et sa famille dans leur cheminement.