Returning to school

Entraide Grands Brûlés offers a program aimed at helping children who have suffered major burns to return to school. It is intended to accompany them during this sometimes difficult, and even distressing, integration stage. This program allows other children to learn about major burns, their treatments and the particular care associated with them. The class presentation ends with a cartoon that brings awareness to children and helps them to respect differences. 

The program has special significance because it is presented by a victim of major burns who can give a testimonial regarding their own positive experience, while inspiring courage and perseverance. Finally, the animator presents the students with the various adaptations they used such as a pressure garment, so that the children can grasp the impact of a major burn and the adaptation effort required of their classmate in terms of their physical and psychological rehabilitations.

This proven scholarly reinsertion program has considerably diminished prejudices that could arise among youths regarding outward appearances.  

When a parent asks Entraide Grands Brûlés to do a presentation at their child’s school, we must first meet with the parents, the youth and the school faculty. We can adapt our presentation to meet everyone’s needs and ensure the best possible integration of the child.


See the "Returning to school" brochure (PDF format)

Programme de retour à l'école

Entraide Grands Brûlés offre un programme de retour à l’école pour les enfants ayant subi des brûlures graves afin de les accompagner lors de cette étape d’intégration parfois difficile,  voir même angoissante. Ce programme permet aux autres enfants d’apprendre ce qu’est une brûlure grave, ses traitements et  les soins particuliers s’y rattachant.   La présentation en classe se termine par une animation qui sensibilise les jeunes au respect des différences.

Le programme est d’autant plus significatif puisqu’il est animé par un grand brûlé qui peut témoigner de sa propre expérience positive, tout en  inspirant le courage et la persévérance. Finalement, l’animateur présente aux élèves, différentes adaptations tels que les vêtements compressifs afin que les enfants saisissent l’impact d’une brûlure grave et l’effort d’adaptation que cela nécessite chez  leur camarade de classe, tant pour son rétablissement physique que psychologique.

Ce programme de réinsertion scolaire  a fait ses preuves et diminue considérablement les préjugés que peuvent avoir les jeunes à propos de  l’apparence extérieure.

Lorsqu’un parent demande à Entraide Grands Brûlés de faire une présentation à l’école de son enfant, nous rencontrons préalablement les parents, le jeune concerné et le personnel de l’école.  Selon les besoins de chacun, nous pouvons adapter  notre animation pour favoriser une meilleure intégration de l’enfant.


Voir la brochure «Retour à l'école» (format .pdf)