Peer helper program

When a burn injury occurs, the trauma doesn’t only affect the injured person, but everyone who makes up their support network of loved ones. Following the admission of a victim of serious burns to a major burns unit, powerful emotions like stress, the feeling of powerlessness, fears for the future and loss of self-esteem can manifest themselves.

Often, the patient and their family each battles their own emotions and suffering. They could be stuck within their own series of personal problems, which prevent them from helping each other.

In order to support the patient and their family during the healing process, Entraide Grands Brûlés offers the SOAR program of peer helpers. This aid program was developed by the Phoenix Society in the United States and implemented in expertise care centre establishments for major burn victims in Western Quebec.  

This program allows the loved ones of major burn victims to meet someone who has suffered burns in the past. It’s also possible for the loved ones of a major burn victim to meet a peer helper who has adapted to a similar situation, so that they can discuss the events they’ve experienced and any fears they’ve felt, which can aid in the healing process. Above all, they can bring hope that life will go on!

To benefit from this program, speak with your doctor or therapist. You can also send us a

request by email.

News

Beginning in the winter of 2011, Entraide Grands Brûlés has been experimenting with the use of Skype to facilitate communication between patients and peer helpers. This is available to those staying at the Villa Medica Rehabilitation Hospital or to those who have access to Skype in their home.

More informations on the hospital computer project

Programme de pairs-aidants

Quand survient une blessure par brûlures, le traumatisme n’affecte pas uniquement  la personne atteinte, mais tout le réseau de soutien formé des personnes significatives. Suite à l’admission d’une victime de brûlures graves à une unité de grands brûlés, des émotions vives comme le stress, le sentiment d’impuissance, les craintes pour l’avenir et la perte d’estime de soi peuvent se manifester.

Bien souvent, le patient et sa famille luttent chacun de leur côté avec leurs émotions et leurs souffrances.  Ils peuvent être aux prises avec une série de problèmes distincts les empêchant de s’entraider efficacement.

Afin de soutenir le patient et sa famille dans leur cheminement,  Entraide Grands Brûlés offre le programme SOAR de pairs-aidants. Ce programme de relation d’aide a été élaboré par la Phoenix Society aux États-Unis et implanté dans les établissements de soins du Centre d’expertise pour les victimes de brûlures graves de l’Ouest du Québec.

Ce programme permet aux proches et aux victimes de brûlures graves de rencontrer une personne ayant subi des brûlures dans le passé. Il est également possible pour un proche d’une victime de brûlures graves de rencontrer un pair-aidant s’étant adapté à une situation similaire, afin d’échanger sur les événements ou les craintes, facilitant ainsi le cheminement vers la guérison.  Mais surtout pour donner l’espoir que la vie continue!

Afin de bénéficier de ce programme, parlez-en à votre médecin ou thérapeute. Vous pouvez également nous faire parvenir une demande par courriel.

Nouveauté

À compter de l’hiver 2011, Entraide Grands Brûlés expérimente l’utilisation de SKYPE pour faciliter les communications entre les patients et les pairs-aidants. Cette expérimentation est possible entre les patients de l’hôpital de réadaptation Villa Medica ou pour tous ceux qui ont un accès à SKYPE de la maison.

Plus d'infos pour le projet d’ordinateur en milieu hospitalier